I am now 6/7 through with my first year of medical school!!! That means that I have officially finished Microscopic Anatomy, Gross Anatomy, Physiology, and Biochemistry!! I have retired my dissecting kit and can now soak my scrubs in perfume because I never have to smell formaldehyde again :) Although, I probably will have to smell it at a later date in my medical career. I have also passed my skills' assessments and have been approved to do healthy exams from the head to the pelvis. This was passed by practicing on a very nice standardized patient and a lot of practicing on Joee (he may be a dog, but it is much easier to go through the motions with him, than another student or the guy I'm dating). On my examination of him, I found a swollen lymph node under his ear and called Bethanne incessantly until she was able to assure me that he would be ok and not to take him to the emergency veterinarian.
On another note, I found out that I have officially torn my ACL and my lateral miniscus, once again. I know, who can tear through an ACL while walking a weiner dog?... that would be me. It takes much skill and clumsiness to pull off such a feat. Please, hold your applause. So, after talking with my doctor, my mom, my boyfriend, and anyone else who would listen to me, I have decided to not repair my ACL right now and see how well I do without one (mostly because I really want to go to India this summer and not stay home in pain from surgery). It seems to be staying somewhat stable which is good enough for me.
Also, my mom and my little brother met Phil a couple of weeks ago. We went out to lunch at Carraba’s and it was a good time. My little brother really liked Phil. This is exciting because my little brother has never liked anyone that I have dated. I guess I kinda like the boy as well ;) The more exciting thing was that, while at lunch, my mom told me that she had lost/broke her phone (I can’t remember which one) and I suggested that we go get me the iPhone 3G and she could have my old phone… So that is what we did. We went from the restaurant to the apple store and my mom now has an iPhone! I am proud of her technological advancement.
After that, my life turned into a whirlwind or working and testing and studying and having no fun whatsoever.
But, this past week I was on Spring Break and was able to spend it with my dad, my sister and her family. It was a great time all around.
We went to a local airport so that Trevis could watch planes land and take-off… he is in love with anything that can go into the sky. And we were able to play around with the camera too.
We also hung out with their “pets” while we were there. These are called Argentinian Tagu’s… They are the only lizards in the world that seek human affection and can be potty trained… they are still weird though.
But the most exciting part of the week was that it was Trevis’s 4th Birthday!!! I can’t believe this cutie pie is already 4! We were able to go to his school to celebrate. He is getting to be so big and adorable.
Christina decided to buy a playground from walmart.com and not to pay someone to put it together for Trevis’s birthday present. I now have a very deep respect for carpenters. The saying, "It takes a village to raise a child" should actually be "It takes a village to put a playground together for a child"... This task took all week.
On Saturday we threw Trevis his 4th birthday party. It was amazing. If I were a four year old, (I kinda am) I would want this type of party :)
No comments:
Post a Comment