So, I decided to start a blog for my dad. Mostly since he is living in Honduras and I am in medical school and our conversations go something like this...
Dad: Hey.. how are you?
Me: Dad, how much is this call costing? I'm good... still in medical school... Alright, we better hang up since this is an international call.
Dad: It really isn't that expensive, Lydia
Me: Well, I actually have to go to school/study/work/sleep
Dad: OK, update me on your life.
So, this is my way of updating him, and anyone else who is interested, on my life. Which, being in med school is not that interesting. But, oh well. It will make me remember how fun/hard/disturbing school is.
Right now we are on a marathon of tests. One everyday, for six days. It's like hell week for the med students... no sleep, no interaction with anyone but the people in my class, no TV, no time, no fun. Just studying all hours of the night. I have to keep reminding myself that I am going to be a doctor and that it is all going to be worth it in the end. But, I have now made it through 4 of the 6 tests and feel like I may be getting the hang of all of this (this feeling will be gone in about 20 minutes when I start studying physio).
Needless to say, I am very excited for this weekend. The class rented a party bus and is heading up to Austin to celebrate getting through hell week. I must say, we work hard, but play harder. It's hard to realize that the people I have the most fun with will one day have the lives of others in their hands, but each one is extremely intelligent and compassionate. I love the medical school here because of the people. If it wasn't for them, I would hate life.
On a good note, I completed microscopic anatomy for the year!!!! That is a very exciting statement because it was one of my least favorite classes and I ended up with a B in it. It's funny because I thought I would never finish my first year in medical school and by March I will have finished all but two of my classes.
Well, I will update this tomorrow after my physio test. If the post goes something like this... "I am now going to cry myself to sleep for the next 6 hours"... you will know that it was as horrible as I was expecting LOL... No, it should be fine... I have a good 18 hours or so to study for it :)
No comments:
Post a Comment